Blogs > A Haven of Sports

If it has to do with New Haven and sports, you'll read about it here. Yale, Quinnipiac, New Haven, Southern Connecticut, Albertus Magnus, high schools, the New Haven Open, and Walter Camp to name a few. Plus we'll give you a look at the best to see each day.

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Dawson State Fighter of the Year

The Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame has selected unbeaten world light heavyweight champion Chad Dawson of New Haven as its 2009 Pro Fighter of the Year. It is the third time in the last four years Dawson has won the award. Manchester featherweight Matt Remillard won the award in 2008.

Dawson (28-0) won a decision over Antonio Tarver in May to retain his International Boxing Federation light heavyweight crown. Dawson will take on Glenn Johnson for the interim World Boxing Council title on Nov. 7 at the XL Center in Hartford.

The CBHOF Amateur Fighter of the Year is Luis Rosa of New Haven.

The CBHOF achievement award will be presented to Paul Cichon of East Hartford, the former director of the Manchester Police Athletic League boxing program.

Phyllis Roy of Glastonbury, who is affiliated with USA Boxing in Connecticut, is the Official of the Year.

John Scully, Vito Tallarita, Danny Cosgrove, Julie Kogon, Sal DiMartino and Jack Delaney comprise the 2009 induction class. CBHOF’s annual dinner will take place on Nov. 21 at the Mohegan Sun. Showtime boxing analyst Steve Farhood will be the master of ceremonies. Tickets, which are $75, can be obtained by calling Sherman Cain at 860-646-0500 (extension 321) or Mike Murtha at 860 862-7586.

For more on the Connecticut Boxing Hall of Fame click here.
(Associated Press photo)



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home