Blogs > A Haven of Sports

If it has to do with New Haven and sports, you'll read about it here. Yale, Quinnipiac, New Haven, Southern Connecticut, Albertus Magnus, high schools, the New Haven Open, and Walter Camp to name a few. Plus we'll give you a look at the best to see each day.

Thursday, October 22, 2009

Elway Camp Man of the Year

Former Stanford and Denver Broncos quarterback John Elway is the recipient of the Walter Camp Football Foundation’s "Man of the Year" award.

Elway joins a distinguished list of former "Man of the Year" winners, including Roger Staubach (Navy), Gale Sayers (Kansas), Dick Butkus (Illinois) and last year’s recipient Morten Andersen (Michigan State).

The Walter Camp "Man of the Year" award honors an individual who has been closely associated with the game of football as a player, coach or close attendant to the game. He must have attained a measure of success and been a leader in his chosen profession. He must have contributed to the public service for the benefit of his community, country and his fellow man. He must have an impeccable reputation for integrity and must be dedicated to our American Heritage and the philosophy of Walter Camp.

"John Elway’s heroics and remarkable success on the football field are well known, but his continuing support of the game of football and the greater good symbolizes the life of Walter Camp and make John a deserving recipient of the Man of the Year Award," said Foundation president Alphonse Paolillo, Jr.

After a storied scholastic career, Elway played at Stanford and set numerous school and Pac-10 offensive records. Elway earned Walter Camp All-America honors in 1982. Elway was the first player selected — by the Baltimore Colts — in the 1983 NFL Draft. He was traded to the Broncos a week later. Elway also played baseball at Stanford and was the top selection of the New York Yankees in the 1981 summer draft just two years after being drafted by the Kansas City Royals.

The NFL’s career leader in wins by a quarterback, Elway played 16 seasons and was selected to nine Pro Bowls. He was named the NFL’s Most Valuable Player in 1987 and the AFC Player of the Year in 1993. Elway is the only player in NFL history to pass for over 3,000 yards and rush for over 200 yards in the same season for seven straight years (1985-91).

Elway, as well as all of the major award winners and members of the 2009 Walter Camp All-America team, will be honored at the organization’s 42nd annual national awards banquet on Jan. 16 at the Yale University Commons. Sponsorships and dinner tickets are available by calling 288-CAMP.

For more information on the Walter Camp Football Foundation click here.

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home